Canada UPS brokerage fees

Sort this thread: Rate this post:
  • Jamin8

Canada UPS brokerage fees

• Posts 1
    • Jamin8 is not online. Last active: 01-11-2018, 2:24 PM
    • Connect

I recently ordered a starters kit (excited for it to arrive tomorrow). I ordered it with UPS standard shipping. I am a bit new to international shipping and was a bit baffled to learn that I also have to pay a brokerage fee of $23.85 CAD ($17.70 USD) in addition to the standard shipping fee of $24.47 USD. The kit costs $59.00 USD. (Total should be about $137 CAD)

My main issue is that the shipping method causes the buyer to get surprised with additional fees. It is for this reason that I also question if ordering a hair system is a good idea for fear of these additional shipping costs on a much more expensive item. I also wish I would have done my research before placing the order as there are a few threads a few years ago about similar issues though none recently. There was mention into these threads about looking into a solution, however not much has seemed to have changed in a few years I guess. Perhaps it might be helpful to add a note about brokerage/customs fees as there seems to be no mention of it elsewhere besides the forum.

Thanks.

• fergiesquest

Re: Canada UPS brokerage fees

• Posts 71
    • fergiesquest is not online. Last active: 03-03-2019, 3:33 PM
    • Connect